mobile menu button
Home > Parish Council > Roles & Responsibilities of the Parish Council

Roles & Responsibilities of the Parish Council

Code of Conduct

In accordance to the Localism Act 2011 ss 26 to 37,  Thurston Parish Council at its meeting on 4th July 2014 adopted the Suffolk Local Code of Conduct. You can view a copy of the Councillors' Register of Interests on Mid Suffolk District Council's website via a link from the 'Register of Interests' page.


Parish Council meetings are normally held on the first Wednesday of each month in the Oak Meeting Room at New Green. All Thurston residents are invited and encouraged to attend the meetings, with a Public Forum set aside during each meeting. The Parish Council meetings  start at 7.30pm and normally finish by 10.00pm. The draft minutes of Thurston Parish Council Meetings and Committee Meetings are uploaded onto this website within  4 weeks of the meeting being held and where space is available a resume is placed in the Thurston Newsletter.

General Power of Competence

At the Annual Parish Council Meeting held on 3rd May 2017, the Council re-confirmed that it met the criteria which allowed it to be eligible to use the General Power of Competence.

Roles undertaken by Councillors

Councillors Dashper, Fawcett, O'Connell and Rainbow are the members of the Policy and Resources Committee.

Councillors Dashper, Fawcett, O'Connell, Masters, Moss and Rainbow are the members of the Planning Committee.

Councillors Fawcett, Masters, Moss and Thomas are the members of the Emergency Planning Committee.

Councillors Fawcett, Masters and O'Connell are Parish Council appointed members of Thurston Neighbourhood Planning Team.

As the Parish Council is the custodian trustee of the New Green Centre, 6 trustees are appointed by the Parish Council to the Trust which operates the centre.  Mr Bowden, Mr Ling and Mr Wallace have been appointed to these positions. There are currently three Parish Council nominated vacancies.

The play equipment installed and managed by the council and sited at both the New Green Centre and Heath Road is monitored by Councillors Dashper, Moss and Rainbow.

As the Parish Council is the Corporate Trustee for Thurston Recreation Ground, 4 Councillors have been appointed to the Recreation Ground Committee to manage the playing field and pavilion. Councillors Daspher, Moss, Rainbow are the parish council appointed members of the committee. There is a vacancy to be filled at the next Parish Council Meeting.

Councillor Thomas represents the parish council on the Suffolk Association of Local Councils; Councillors Masters and O'Connell on the Thurston Community College Forum and Councillors Fawcett and Thomas on Thurston Library Group.

Councillor Moss represents the parish council on the Cavendish Hall Trust.  

Councillor Rainbow is the Council's Internal Audit Control Officer and carries out quarterly reviews of the system of internal control.

Mrs Jannette Service is the Parish Council appointed Footpath Warden.

Councillor Barbara Morris is the Parish Council appointed Tree Warden.

Mrs Jannette Service is the Parish Council appointed Thurston Relief in Need Charity Representative


Delegated Powers

Powers delegated to the Clerk

Powers delegated under Thurston's Dispensation Policy


Terms of Reference for Council's Committees

Planning Committee

Policy and Resources Committee

Recreational Ground Committee

Contacting the Parish Clerk

The Parish Clerk can be contacted during Tuesdays and Fridays at the Parish Council Office between the hours of 9.30am and 3.30pm.