THURSTON PARISH COUNCIL

Parish Council Office New Green Centre Thurston IP31 3TG

Tel: 01359 232854

e-mail: info@thurstonparishcouncil.gov.uk website: http://thurston.suffolk.cloud



Paper prepared by: Clerk to the Parish Council for noting at Parish Council Meeting: of 1st May 2024

Agenda Item 10

d) Councillors to reconfirm appointments to committees, outside bodies and parish appointed positions.

The Parish Council Chair and Vice-Chair are ex-officio members of all Committees and Working Groups.

Proposals:

10 d) Councillors to review positions outlined below and confirm the following:

- A. Current membership
- B. Nominations to come forward for vacant positions

Committee	Current Membership	Commentary
Policy & Resources	Cllr. Christopher Dashper (Chair)	No substitutes
Committee	Cllr. Graham Balaam	
	Cllr. Liz Bond	
	Cllr. Michael Moy	
	Cllr. Bryan Rainbow	
	Cllr. Julian West	
Planning Committee	Cllr. Christopher Dashper (Chair)	No substitutes – any significant
	Cllr. Graham Balaam	planning matters are open to all
	Cllr. Barbara Morris	serving members and will be
	Cllr. Phil Smith	added to the monthly council
	Cllr. Bryn Rainbow	meetings.
	Cllr. Tracey Welham	
	Cllr. Julian West	
Emergency Plan	Cllr. Bryan Rainbow (Chair)	Substitutes:
Committee	Cllr. Graham Balaam	Cllr. Phil Smith
Note: Chair & Parish Clerk are members only for declaration purposes	Cllr. Liz Bond	
	Cllr. Barbara Morris	
	Cllr. Michael Moy	
	Cllr. Julian West	
Leisure and Environment Committee	Cllr. Liz Bond	Chair to be appointed at next
	Cllr. Steven Gerrish	scheduled meeting
	Cllr. Barbara Morris	
	Cllr. Michael Moy	Cllr. Graham Balaam
	Cllr. Phil Smith	Cllr. Christopher Dashper
	Cllr. Tracey Welham	

Parish Council Structure - 01.05.2024

		Louncii Structure - 01.05.202
Recreation Ground Charity	Cllr. Bryan Rainbow (Chair)	Substitutes:
Trust	Cllr. Liz Bond	Cllr. Graham Balaam
Note: Committee time:	Cllr. Stephen Gerrish	Cllr. Christopher Dashper
Note: Committee acting	Cllr. Barbara Morris	
under the direct	Cllr. Phil Smith	
responsibility of the Parish Council as sole trustee	Cllr. Julian West	
		D 1: 1: 1: 1: 1: 1: 1: 1: 1: 1: 1: 1: 1:
Bank Signatories	Cllr. Chris Dashper	Banking policy states that two of
	Cllr. Graham Balaam	the four signatories will authorise
	Cllr. Barbara Morris	all payments initiated by the
	Cllr. Julian West	Clerk as RFO.
Council Internal Control	Cllr. B Rainbow	No substitutes required.
Reviewer	Cllr. J West	
Cavendish Hall Trust	Cllr. Barbara Morris	
Committee		
Friends of Thurston Library	Cllr. Bryan Rainbow	
Group		Vacancy
		Vacancy
New Green Community	Cllr. Liz Bond	
Trust	Cllr. Julian West	V
Note: Council to note the		Vacancy
Note: Council to note the		Vacancy
requirement to have six nominees to the Trust (as		Proposal is to have all
written in the Trust		Councillors serve a six-month
document)	Council supported parish	term during their time of office
accamenty	nominations:	- Council has full indemnity
	Mr R. Smith	insurance for those so
	Mr P. Wade	nominated
Thurston Community	Cllr. Liz Bond	
College Forum	Cllr. Julian West	
Suffolk Association of	All Councillors are invited to	No change required
Local Councils	attend the quarterly forums	
	currently held online.	
Parish Tree Wardens	Vacancy	Vacancy
	Cllr. Barbara Morris (assisting)	
Parish Footpath Wardens	Cllr. Barbara Morris	Wa a san ass
Davidh Local December		Vacancy
Parish Local Recorder		Vacancy
Council Safeguarding	Cllr. Tracey Welham	
Designated Lead		
Thurston Relief In Need	Mrs. I. Churchus	
Charity	Mrs. J. Service	

Council to note that a review of the Parish Infrastructure Investment Plan is due in 2024 and that this work is currently being undertaken by the Planning Committee. A Working Group has also been set up to assist with this and the associated documentation.

The group consists of:

Cllr. Graham Balaam	Co-Chair of the Thurston NDP
Cllr. Julian West	Co-Chair of the Thurston NDP
Cllr. Tracey Welham	Village Representative
_	Village Representative